Nicknames for the enemy (and perhaps your allies ?)

Regole del forum
Collegamenti al regolamento del forum in varie lingue ed alle norme sulla privacy in italiano.
Ron
ixolan
ixolan

Nicknames for the enemy (and perhaps your allies ?)

Messaggio da Ron »

I think I know most of the nicknames the Allies gave to their enemies [including "Teds" for Germans in Italy.]
Question is what about everyone else?
For example;
What did the Soviets call the Germans?
Did the Germans really call Soviet soldiers "Ivan" ?
What did the Italians call the British? Surely not "Tommy" all the time?
What did the Japanese call their opponents?

If you can think of anymore please add.
Hi everbody

The above query was posted on another website (of which I am a member) that deals with WW2 matters.
I promised to ask my Triestinian friends what nicknames they remember or were aware of so do your best :lol:

As a British soldier, I was stationed in the Trieste area from October 1945 until January 1947
refolo

nicksname for the enemy and perhaps

Messaggio da refolo »

HI! Ron,

I can help you with few...................

Italians called the English= "poms" sometime George because of your the King
The Italians called the Americans always "JOE".

The French called the Germans Craut
The Italians called the Germans "GNOCCHI", because they used to eat a lots of potatoes, which gnocchi is made out of it.

The Americans called the Germans ""SAUERKRAUT""
The Germans used to call us Flac.......Kartoffel, macaroni ( the first word I will tell you privately).

The Germans called the Russian " Ivan's"
The Japanese something to do with Rosie ( the famous radio-announcer) sorry I can't tell you the first word, I will check with my old man.

Maria aka refolo

[/b]

macondo
Distinto
Distinto

Messaggio da macondo »

The only ones I recall were:

GNOCHI=GERMANS
CRUCHI=GERMANS(?)

By the way, gnocchi are kind of dumplings very popular in Italy.
Don't know the ethimology of CRUCHI....

refolo